Tranquil afternoon in Tsim Sha Tsui

3 Jul

Finally, my summer vacation has started. It is a good time to relax and forget the busy school work. So, I will take a leisurely holiday and won’t do any part-time job.

Last weekend, I had a lovely gathering with my college classmates in Tsim Sha Tsui. Before the meeting, I hang around the shopping mall with my best friend. After my friend’s crazy shopping (I had not buy anything at all), we felt tired and wanted a place for afternoon tea. So, my friend recommended a restaurant in the shopping mall, Harlan’s.

It was located at the busyNathan Roadand was in the nineteenth floor in The One. I couldn’t believe Tsim Sha Tsui can be so peaceful at the weekends. We walked into the restaurant and had a seat indoor. The place is clean and bright, and there is enough natural light from the floor to ceiling windows and the view is very open and beautiful. It offers a great sea view of Tsim Sha Tsui that I think is a main selling point here. Besides, the slogan of Harlan’s is “Where dinning is an experiences”.

We ordered a $198 High Tea Tower set which is the most famous tea set here. There were three layers in the high tea tower: there were some light snacks at the bottom; some cakes & scones at the middle; and some macaroon & pastry at the top. And, here are some of my recommended items:

Smoked Salmon, Horseradish Cream, Dill on Wheat Bread (Bottom):- The most favorite non-dessert snack we had, the smoked salmon is nice and fatty.

Double Chocolate Cake (Middle):- It doesn’t taste too sweet. There is Liquid chocolate on top of chocolate cake layers.

Green Tea Opera(Middle):- It is great, the fragrance of green tea and the sponge cake is a prefect match.

Cinnamon apple puff pastry(Top) :- I like this. And it isn’t too sweet and just right.

And, I think the size of cakes and snakes of Harlan’s is good fit, just right, not too small and too big. Besides, its house coffe is taste good as well. Finally, we spent around two hours on this afternoon, and had a nice conversation with nice food.

Overall, Harlan’ s gave us a great environment, good service, good food. And, it is an enjoyable afternoon tea. At $198 for two, I think it is a reasonable price. And I will come again soon later and want to book the outdoor seats to enjoy the sunny Tsim Sha Tsui sea view. Last, it is a very good place for leisure.

(Chan Gloria, Word count 427)

Leave a Reply

